It’s my 1 year Blogger-versary!

92 blog posts, 4 theme changes, 2 blogging breaks, 2 name changes, 265 email followers,  41 actual WordPress followers, many frustrated nights, hours of editing to find there are still errors, tons of reflections and many conversations that spiked inspiration. There were times I felt like I was not being heard, and was envious of other bloggers. I can go on and on…
One year of blogging has taught me a few things. When I began,  it was for a school assignment. Thank you, to my Journalist Analysis teacher, Hillie, you are simply awesome! I think that was one of THE coolest classes of my post-graduate career. I was interested and engaged, and I loved the blogging aspect of it all. I enjoyed just reading the material and sharing my perspective. To be honest, I think there is where it all started.
To be fair, I was encouraged by other classmates to begin writing ( Jo and Kriti, Thanks!), but I didn’t take it seriously. So, when I woke up one night with this feeling that I cannot describe, I knew I needed to begin writing. So I did. I started thoughtsofthesun.wordpress.com (now, thoughtsofsol.wordpress.com).
I began writing right after my stressful Master’s thesis era; in hindsight, I  SHOULD have began writing then, as writing has become very therapeutic for me.
What blogging did show me was that I had A LOT to say about different topics. I noticed this from the long wall of text I would write, it opened up my imagination to all kinds of ideas that I had to write down. Blogging taught me to carry around notebooks and a pen, because you never knew where, and when your next topic was going to come from.
Blogging encouraged self-reflection. I reflect on myself often, and by re-reading older posts, I see how far I have come, and where my mind was at a certain point. Blogging is  allowing me to find my way in this world, and hopefully inspire others as I travel along my life’s path.
Blogging also frustrated me. There were times when I got no likes, or comments on my posts for long periods of time. Times when I thought that my voice was being drowned out in the sea of amazing writers in the blogging community  However, blogging certainly pushed me to adapt, and change areas of my blog as I wrote. I changed my theme, I shortened my posts, I used popular slang, I incorporated memes and Instagram quotes, as well as pictures, and I collaborated with other bloggers.
 Blogging pushed me to compete to be seen; and to NOT be scared to share my content on platforms like LinkedIn, and to make my Instagram public to allow more people to see my work. It pushed me to reach out to people and make things happen for myself. It taught me that I have nothing to loose. It taught me that consistency, qaulity and  flexibility are key for blog growth but moreso, PATIENCE!
Blogging is something that I truly enjoy! I really do. I want to motivate and inspire people with my content, and my journey. Moreover, I want to take my blogging to another level. I have BIG dreams of being a #GirlBoss. Actually, I already am; one  who’s figuring out how to incorporate her blogging with empire building.
So this Monday, do not forget to celebrate all your milestones, small or large, they are all important. Here’s to 1 year of blogging! I’m excited to see what’s in store.
Thank You for joining me for the ride. See you on Friday.
Blessings,

Sol

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Wake Up With Jay & Kenyona says:

    Congratulations on your blogging anniversary!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Newzo says:

    Congrats!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. franklisasdiary says:

    Happy anniversary!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nay says:

    Congratulations!!! Your blog is awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awwww! Thank you soo much! Yours as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. matt1815 says:

    Well done, I’m at 9 months now so good to see how well you’re doing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohhhh, Thank you!! I will check out your blog too. Thanks for commenting.

      Like

  6. Jennicocoa says:

    Congratulations, super exciting! Cant wait for more.
    http://www.lifestylebycocoa.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment