Weekend Lessons

Writing today’s post had me in a bit of a pickle (English saying for “I had small problem”). I didn’t know what to write about. Honestly. If you follow me on any of my Social Media, you would of seen the announcement along with a mini explanation behind the delay of today’s post. I had a great weekend it consisted of 2 things, Food and Family however, the very unfortunate incident of the Orlando, Florida shooting took place and I was stuck. I was contemplating whether I should give a recap of my weekend and inject a message in there, something nice, deep and thought provoking. On the other hand, I thought why not give my thoughts on the Orlando Shooting, it’s a very current and relevant topic or, perhaps, sharing a lesson I learned about communication in life and social settings over the weekend would be more valuable? Are you understanding my predicament?  Perhaps, the next time this happens I can ask you all what you prefer, that might be better.

However, I am going to stay true to myself and what I feel is more useful for you all; that would be the underlying lesson throughout my weekend, communication. [Disclaimer: I’m not insinuating that the Orlando Shooting is not important and it does not warrant attention, but it will receive a myriad of media coverage over the coming days and weeks. Perhaps, what I want to say  can be something that be something to think about when in conversations.]

This past weekend, I spent it travelling to meet the local government of my island, Saba and spending some time with family members. It involved a lot of talking, food, laughter and a good time. Through grown-up talk, you learn about the missteps of others and how shame or embarrassment  as well as the way things were in those days attributed to the “hush-hush” practice mentality, The hush-hush mentality is mainly when instances occur that you may not be the proud of  and it is never spoken of. Everyone ( maybe not everyone) knows  about it but no one talks about, you may even hear whisperings about it, but never a full in detail conversation. What this does is create issues and situations that could have been avoided had  there been some clear and honest communication. No matter how painful and embarrassing, in the end it saves (some)confusion, makes for better  understanding and happier days.

wp-1465818800518.jpg
Dinner with members of the Island Council of Saba.

Now in social settings, communication is a given, you have to talk. You engage in conversation to gain knowledge and to interact with others. However, interjecting yourself into conversations can be tricky for some  of us. Some of us want to be involved in conversation so intensely, because they have something to share, or they don’t want to be left out. Sometimes, they have a strong desire to share, and at that moment that they don’t fully listen to the conversation and inject themselves that conversation did not involve them. Some people may not think much of it, while  others may not like it and could voice their displeasure  about, which could result in some embarrassment.  With not fully listening to the conversation could lead to offering comments that have no relevance to the conversation and could lead to embarrassment. No one wants that.

So for today’s take home folks:

  1. Have open and honest conversations with people (even when it hurts)
  2. Listen intently when in conversation, in case you wish to join the conversation, you can join on relevant points.

Let’s save ourselves some pain and embarrassment. What do you think?

 

Blessings,

Sol

Leave a comment